Do you ever feel inadequate?

Once again this isn’t a post I would want to write on a crafty blog but I feel like there is nowhere else to turn. An friend of mine was diagnosed with Stage 3 Ovarian Cancer this week. She has 3 young children and this comes as a total shock to her and her family. I met her through volunteering and she often volunteers with me at church in the department that I coordinate. She has always given all she had to everyone else. Her kids and the community and not that anyone ever deserves cancer, but I can’t think of anyone who deserves this less. She went in for cysts and went out with a complete hysterectomy and a cancer diagnosis.  I can’t imagine the shock she is going through both physically and mentally. In the interst of her privacy, Iwill only say her name is Emily. I know that I can’t solve her problems, cure her cancer or even provide the needs that she has. But, I feel the need to contribute to whatever I can do for her or the family. I feel so inadequate in offering support. I feel guilt over being healthy and planning a vacation. It hurts to know that this is something I can’t even begin to fix for her.

The teal ribbon is the awareness sign for ovarian cancer so I will wear that here to support her. In the coming weeks I will be doing my best to organize a benefit or Emily and her family. My gift is in creativity and I know that you all, my blogger friends, have that same gift. If you have a small craft donation that you can donate, I will be setting up an Etsy shop and a silent auction at church to strictly to benefit Emily and give whatever financial ease that we can provide for her during this time. My heart breaks that she will be on bedrest and then will start chemo with 3 little ones who she can’t cook dinner for or tuck into bed. Leave me a comment if you can help and I will get you all of the details via email. If you are praying person, keep Emily and her family in your prayers. Wear the teal ribbon on your blog for a day to spread awareness of those battling cancer.

 

9 thoughts on “Do you ever feel inadequate?

  1. I am so sorry to hear this about your friend! I will of course be praying for her and her family and would be happy to make a craft donation. Just let me know whatcha need for it. Keep us posted too on how things go with the chemo and all. I went through this with a friend about three years ago, so I can relate to the “inadequate” feeling. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Oh Steph I am so sorry to hear this news, I can’t believe why things like this happen to amazing people like your friend.
    Let me know your addy again and I will send something for your auction.
    My thoughts and prayers are with your friend and her family.
    Love to all
    Kara
    xx

  3. Omigosh — How appropriate this post is to what our family is going through right now. Our Uncle has terminal kidney cancer and is basically at home to die now. I’ve been churning my brain as to what to do with all of this and wanting to give something away, auction, sell whatever to go to charity of some sort. I have this quilt I am working on and will probably finish this weekend. I would love to donate it to this shop, for this family. We have just been so lost for words on how to cope with all of this, he is in so much pain and only 67 today. What a great thing you are doing.

  4. I am so sorry to hear the news of your friend. I am a christian and I know what the power of prayer can do, so I will definately be keeping her in my prayers. I am slao a crafty person and would love to donate something for the cause. I do not have a blog but I enjoy reading yours and many others daily. Let me know what I can donate. I sew, knit, scrapbook, do paper crafts, so whatever you need, I’ll be happy to send something your way!

  5. I’m so very sorry to read this post Steph. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help! I’ll try to think of a few things maybe I could make to put up for sale but you keep me posted if you think of anything else you need or I could do to help out. I will keep them in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. I am so sorry to hear this. :o( My mother was diagnosed with Stage 3 Ovarian Cancer in 1998. She was told “maybe 1-2 years”. She passed away in 2005. We were blessed to have her here so much longer than she was told in the beginning. She was a real fighter! This is a cause that is near and dear to my heart so please let me know if I can help in anyway. I would love to contribute something as well.

    Erika

  7. Prayers going out to Emily and her family in this time of need. You are a wonderful friend. ((((Hugs))))) Please update on how she is when you can.

Leave a comment