The Longest Yardsale and a Long List of Thanks!

vbs-and-sales-104.jpg

I look forward to this time every year when the longest yard sale essentially is a mile away from my house. There is a fair bit of junk but always a lot of treasures to be found. Someday I hope to find someone who loves thrifting as much as I do to take the roadtrip with me. Several days and states of treasure hunting! I spent only $10 and came home with lots of vintage thread and patterns, a vintage Better Home and Gardens Sewing Guide from 1962 and several other little goodies for the princess to play with while we went on our little adventure.

The weekend for me was not as sweet as it usually is coming right after the diagnosis of Emily. But, it has brought out the best in others. I was overwhelmed at the support of so many who are willing to make something and donate it for a benefit for Emily and her family. I have flapped my gums about this to everyone I know locally and what started as a little fundraiser through Etsy has turned into a massive response from our local church and community who want to contribute their goods and services as well.  It is awesome to see people “pay it forward” and give from their hearts for someone whom they have never met. I am touched and humbled at your support! From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

We will be setting up a date for the benefit soon and as soon as I get back from vacation I will start the etsy store with 100% of the profits going to Emily’s family to help with her medical expenses. If you would like to contribute to either of these benefits please leave a comment and I will email you details. You guys are awesome and I feel honored to be a part of a crafting community who give so selflessly and freely. I hope you are all blessed in abundance for your willingness to help others.

2 thoughts on “The Longest Yardsale and a Long List of Thanks!

Leave a comment