Satin Flower Tutorial

20120806-154554.jpg

I had some crazy contractions this morning and needed an activity to keep me distracted and still today and since I found a ton of poly satin I decided to make these sweet hairbows. Well, flowers.

1. Cut poly satin fabric into circles. I have made them with anywhere from 3-5 different size circles. This is about preference and fullness. The nice thing is that these don’t need to be perfect circles for great results!

2. Get a candle lit and burn the edges of your circle until they curl up slightly. On lighter colored fabric this may show black on the edges. I like the look but be aware if you were not going for that look.

3. Stack your circles according to size putting them together with glue. I like hot glue but you can use another strong craft glue or even sew them together.

4. Add rhinestone(s) if desired.

5. Add backs if your choice. For bows I prefer a lined alligator clip but I also like pin backs to apply these to purses, hats, etc….

6. Enjoy your handmade flowers! Or give them away if you are like me a s have problems making them in moderation!

20120806-155417.jpg

Leave a comment