My not so little Moore update

Pregnancy is a pretty amazing time in your life. It is this time of bonding and growing somone one created out of love inside of you. Gentle rolls and playful kicks. Hiccups as they learn how to breathe. Strangers can’t help but ooh and ahh over your belly, deperate just to touch it for just a moment as if were Buddah. See, I really do love being pregnant.

Now that all of that I have gotten out all of the sunshine and rainbows, I am about to whine. Before you call me ungrateful, know that I waited a long time for this beloved baby and I love him more than anything and he is worth the pain that your body has to endure. Up until a few weeks ago I had pretty little to complain about. Perfect pregnancy. I had the little basketball belly, weight gain within reason, still sleeping and no swelling. Pretty much the opposite of my pregnancy with the princess.

But, I had 30 weeks and things started to slowly get a lot harder. I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes. Which means the one great privledge of pregnancy has been revoked. I am basically on a diet. I have to count my carbs and sugar intake, take meds and poke my fingers 4 times  a day to check my glucose levels. Which in itself isn’t that bad, but GD often means big babies. An ultrasound last week showed that Sammy was no exception to that rule. He weighed in at 6 lbs and 6 oz at 35 weeks and measured almost 3 weeks ahead. They also want to keep GD babies in until at least 38-39 weeks which means his potential to gain 1/2 to 1 lb a week from her here on out is very likely. Um, that could be over 11 lbs! My dreams of doing this natural are going out the window. TMI alert, with the princess her labor was 6 hours and she came out on the first real push and at 7 bs and 5 oz gave me severe bilateral tearing. Healing was extremely hard and the pain of the following weeks was worse than the real labor, so if 7 lbs did that to me….I really can’t imagine 11 lbs coming out easily.

His big size has also has me now high risk and I have to see a perinatolgist, diabetes counselor, my ob and have 2 non stress tests a week. So, trying to work, taxi the princess to preschool and get to all of my appointments has been hard. I am so tired at the end of the day but sleeping is out the window. He is so big that no matter how I lay I can’t sleep. My joints are all seperating and just turning over from side to side really is excruciating. Every night brings leg cramps that bring me to tears and my poor hubby has to get up with me several times a night to massage the cramps out of my legs and also to helps me roll over so I can get up to pee. If you need a visual, think beached whale.

So, to wrap up my whining.

Samuel…I love you…but please come out. Come out when you are healthy and ready but your mama is falling apart.

5 thoughts on “My not so little Moore update

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about all of that, it sounds so painful! Hopefully he comes naturally as soon as possible. I won’t be too long before this will all be a distant (although painful) memory. Unfortunately, you still have to go through it. Wish there was a way I could help. 😦

  2. Hi there . . . you don’t know me, but I found your blog through “that darn kat” and immediately felt a connection because I also struggle with infertility. What a blessing to have this little man growing inside of you 🙂 I will be praying for stamina for you for the rest of this pregnancy!
    Jenny

    *try eating bananas to help with the leg cramps.

  3. Hi, I can relate to your woes, I have given birth to my little miracles too. I know that if you are getting leg cramps or (charlie horses in your legs) it means that you are not getting enough calcium in your diet. I used to get excruciating leg cramps during my pregnancies until I increased my calcium by ALOT! When you do get those cramps try putting the sole of your foot straight (so it kind of looks like the letter L) and it will pull your muscles and pull out the cramp. Also there is a birthing method called “hypnobirthing” its not really like your hypnotized it is just a deep relaxation technique that puts you in control of whether you feel pain or not during your labor. Hope all goes well and God bless you.

  4. We are in the same boat. I just found out that my baby went from 68th percentile in wk 35 to 89th in wk 36. I am a bit freaked out. This is #5 for me and I hope to give birth naturally. Good luck to you! My #3 was 11#12oz and I don’t want to do that again, but I want a c-section even less.

Leave a comment